OUR STAFF

Our Staff

No one forgets a great teacher, and our school’s success is based on professionalism and the formal yet friendly relationship between pupils and our teachers. All staff have the interests of every child at heart, both in and out of the classroom.

Our teachers are specialists in their subjects, who work in departments with a senior colleague as Head of Department with overall responsibility. Each school year group is split into forms, with their own form teacher. Parents are encouraged to keep in regular touch with this teacher by phone or email to discuss their child’s development.

The Head of Year, a teacher well known to pupils and parents, deals with key matters such as discipline, uniform and punctuality.

Contact Teachers

Main Switchboard:020 7307 8700
Fax:020 7436 2676
Email:admin@portland-place.co.uk
Report Absence:020 7307 8700

Staff List

Senior Leadership Team (SLT)

Headmaster:
Mr David Bradbury, MSc Keele, MA Open, MInstP, CPhys, FRSA (Mathematics and Physics)

Deputy Head:
Mr Jamie Whiteside
BSc University of Edinburgh (Science & Engineering), PGCE, University of Edinburgh (Secondary Humanities & Social Science)
jamie.whiteside@portland-place.co.uk

Assistant Head (Welfare):
Mr Tom Maslona
BSc (Hons) Sport Science and English, Brunel University
tomasz.maslona@portland-place.co.uk

Assistant Head (Co-Curriculum) and Director of Music:
Mr Steve Hill
MA Education, BMus (Hons), PGCE, Cert GSMD(P), ALCM
steve.hill@portland-place.co.uk

Assistant Head (Student Support):
Ms Patricia Pieri
BSc Psychology London, MA (Educational Neuroscience)
patricia.pieri@portland-place.co.uk

Finance & Operations Manager:
Ms Vicki Bromley
vicki.bromley@portland-place.co.uk

English & Media Faculty

Faculty Leader for English & Media:
Jaimie Hubner
Master of Teaching (Secondary), BA (Hons) (English Literature with Art History & Theory)
jaimie.hubner@portland-place.co.uk

English Teachers:
Ambreen Baig
BA (Hons) University of London (English), PGCE Institute of Education (English)
ambreen.baig@portland-place.co.uk

Syeda Salmah
BA (Hons) Queen Mary’s University (English Literature), PGCE  Goldsmith’s University.Undertaking Master’s degree in Creative Writing in Education at Goldsmith’s University
syeda.salmah@portland-place.co.uk

Toni Tasic
BA (Hons), PGCE (English) UCL
toni.tasic@portland-place.co.uk

Laura Van Der Wal
BA (Hons), University of Guelph, Ontario, BA Schulich School of Education, Nipissing University, Ontario (Education)
laura.vanderwal@portland-place.co.uk

Media Studies Teacher:
Toni Tasic
BA (Hons), PGCE (English) UCL
toni.tasic@portland-place.co.uk

Librarian:
Mrs Belinda Carvalho
MSc Information and Library Studies, Robert Gordon University Aberdeen
belinda.carvalho@portland-place.co.uk

Mathematics and Computer Science Faculty

Faculty Leader for Mathematics: Sara Lukins Segerstrom
BEd Kalmar Sweden, PGCE (Mathematics)
sara.segerstrom@portland-place.co.uk

Mathematics Teachers
Anthony Elliott
PGCE (Secondary Mathematics) University of Bedfordshire
anthony.elliott@portland-place.co.uk

Elena Wang
BSc Aerospace Engineering at La Sapienza University of Rome (Italy) and PGCE Mathematics St Marys’ University
elena.wang@portland-place.co.uk

Joseph Chakra
MBA Finance, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University, USA
Bachelor of Science, Information Systems Management and Mathematics University of Maryland
PGCE (Secondary Mathematics), St Mary’s University, Twickenham, UK
joseph.chakra@portland-place.co.uk

Computer Science and Mathematics Teacher:

Jasbir Singh Athwal
PGCE King’s College London (Computer Science/IT), MA of Applied Science Charles Sturt University, Wagga, Australia (Library and Information Management), BSc University of NSW, Sydney Australia (Information Systems)
jasbir.athwal@portland-place.co.uk

Science Faculty

Faculty Leader for Science:
Holly Freeman
PGCE University of East London, BSc Royal Holloway University of London (Biomedical Science)
holly.freeman@portland-place.co.uk

Science Teachers
Harriet Silcocks
BSc (Hons) Biology
harriet.silcocks@portland-place.co.uk

William Brittain
BSc (Hons) in Physics with Astrophysics University of Kent
PGCE UCL
william.brittain@portland-place.co.uk

Daniel Bland
BSc Biomedical Science & MSc Cancer and Therapeutics Queen Mary University
PGCE Secondary Education University of East London
daniel.bland@portland-place.co.uk

Lab Technician:
Ahmed Dellali
MSc Chemical Research
Queen Mary University
Associate Member of Royal Society of Chemistry
ahmed.dellali@portland-place.co.uk

Humanities Faculty

Business Studies and Economics Teacher:
Melanie Thorne
Bachelor of Education
melanie.thorne@portland-place.co.uk

Geography Teacher:
Louise O’Leary BA (Hons) University of Liverpool, PGCE (Secondary Geography University of Manchester
louise.oleary@portland-place.co.uk

History Teacher:
Phoebe Lewis
BA (Hons) History & Politics, University of Newcastle, PGCE Institute of Education, (Secondary History)
phoebe.lewis@portland-place.co.uk

Creative Arts Faculty

Heads of Creative Arts, Head of Drama:
David Chivers
BA University of Cumbria (Performing Arts), Central School of Speech & Drama PGCE (Drama)
david.chivers@portland-place.co.uk

Assistant Head & Director of Music:
Steve Hill, MA Education
BMus (Hons), PGCE, Cert GSMD(P), ALCM
steve.hill@portland-place.co.uk

Lead Teacher of Art:
Lucy Dever, PGCE University of Chester (Art and Design), BA (Joint Hons) University of Wales, Aberystwyth (Fine Art and English Literature)
lucy.dever@portland-place.co.uk

Art Teacher:
Teffany Osborne, BA (Hons) Fine Art, Slade (Art)
teffany.osborne@portland-place.co.uk

Lead teacher for Design and Technology:
David Wood, BA (Hons),
Brunel University, GTP (Resistant Materials)
david.wood@portland-place.co.uk

Design and Technology:
Johanne Bertaux-Strenna
BA (Hons) Costume for Performance, University of the Arts London; PGCE Art & Design, UCL
johanne.bertaux@portland-place.co.uk

Drama Teacher:
Alexa Judd
BA (Hons) University College Northampton (Performance Studies)
alexa.judd@portland-place.co.uk

Music Teacher:
Christina Boyle
BA (Hons) University of York, PGCE with Specialist Instrumental Teaching RNCM/MMU
christina.boyle@portland-place.co.uk

Creative Arts Technician:
Theo Snowdon
BSc (Hons) Furniture Manufacture and Innovation
HND (Furniture)
PGCE, PGC BA Open
theo.snowdon@portland-place.co.uk

Sports Faculty

Faculty Leader for Sports:
Scott Rider
BA (Hons) Brunel, GTP (Physical Education)
scott.rider@portland-place.co.uk

Sports Teachers:
Joe Kubik
BA (Hons) St Marys University College (Physical Education)
joe.kubik@portland-place.co.uk

Caroline Boyce
PGCE Middlesex University (Secondary – Physical Education), BSc (Hons) Brunel University (Sports Sciences)
caroline.boyce@portland-place.co.uk

Lewys Steward
BSc, Brunel, PGCE, Middlesex
Lewys.steward@portland-place.co.uk

Modern Foreign Languages Faculty

Faculty Leader for Modern Foreign Languages:
Mr Thomas Lalande
BA Bordeaux, GTP (French and Spanish)
thomas.lalande@portland-place.co.uk

MFL Teacher:
Ms Charlotte Magniez
BA and MA Boulogne-sur-Mer, GTP (French and Spanish)
charlotte.magniez@portland-place.co.uk

Student Support Faculty

Assistant Head (Student Support):
Patricia Pieri
BSc (Hons) University of London (Psychology),
MAUniversity of London (Educational Neuroscience)
patricia.pieri@portland-place.co.uk

SEN Teachers:
Ewa Coates
BA (Hons) The Open University (English and French), MA University of Wroclaw, Poland (History of Art), Level 5 DIp in SpLD (Dyslexia)
ewa.coates@portland-place.co.uk

Paulina Zalesny
B.Ed.  University of Rzeszów, Poland (Russian), MA University of Rzeszów, Poland, (Child Development)
paulina.zalesny@portland-place.co.uk

English as an Additional Language Teacher:
Daciana Florea
B.Ed Oradea Romania
daciana.florea@portland-place.co.uk

Learning Support Assistant:
Ms Carole Bignell
BA (Hons) Middlesex University (Development and International
carole.bignell@portland-place.co.uk

Heads of Year and Pastoral Structure

Head of Year 6 & 7:
Ms Christina Boyle
christina.boyle@portland-place.co.uk

Year 6 & 7 Form Tutor:
Mr Ben Soper
ben.soper@portland-place.co.uk

Head of Year 8:
Mr Toni Tasic
toni.tasic@portland-place.co.uk

Year 8 Form Tutors:

Jasbir Singh Athwal
jasbir.athwal@portland-place.co.uk

Laura Van De Wal
laura.vanderwal@portland-place.co.uk

Head of Year 9:
Ms Caroline Boyce
caroline.boyce@portland-place.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year:
Louise O’Leary
loulouoleary@gmail.com
Year 9 Form Tutors:
Anthony Elliott
anthony.elliott@portland-place.co.uk
Joseph Chakra
joseph.chakra@portland-place.co.uk

Head of Year 10:
Mr Joe Kubik
joe.kubik@portland-place.co.uk

Assistant Head of Year:
Harriet Silcocks
harriet.silcocks@portland-place.co.uk

Year 10 Form Tutors:
Lewys Steward
lewys.steward@portland-place.co.uk
Syeda Salmah
syeda.salmah@portland-place.co.uk
David Wood
david.wood@portland-place.co.uk

Head of Year 11:

Mrs Alexa Judd
alexa.judd@portland-place.co.uk

Year 11 Form Tutors:

Lucy Dever
lucy.dever@portland-place.co.uk
Melanie Thorne
melanie.thorne@portland-place.co.uk

Phoebe Lewis
phoebe.lewis@portland-place.co.uk

Head of Portland Place Online:
Ms Ambreen Baig
ambreen.baig@portland-place.co.uk

Administrative & Support Staff

Admissions Registrar:
admissions@portland-place.co.uk

Administrators:
Gail Buranathai
Trish Kilby
Alex Noyes
admin@portland-place.co.uk

Attendance Officer:
Gary Brazier
admin@portland-place.co.uk

Caretakers
Mr John Himana and Mr Jilali El-Mouden

Data & Exams Manager
Caroline McNamara
caroline.mcnamara@portland-place.co.uk

Head of Marketing
Jessica Wantman
jessica.wantman@portland-place.co.uk

Visiting Music Teachers

Nick Bentley
Brass & Music Technology
nick.bentley@portland-place.co.uk

Zrinka Bottrill
Classical Piano zrinka.bottrill@portland-place.co.uk

Jay Jenkinson
Strings
jay.jenkinson@portland-place.co.uk

Sam Jesson
Drum Kit
sam.jesson@portland-place.co.uk

Taylor MacLennan
Flute
taylor.maclennan@portland-place.co.uk

Darren McCarthy
Guitar & Bass Guitar
darren.mcCarthy@portland-place.co.uk

Nikki Yeoh
Jazz Piano
nikki.yeoh@portland-place.co.uk

Elizabeth Ryder
Voice
elizabeth.ryder@portland-place.co.uk

John Slack
Clarinet and Saxophone
john.slack@portland-place.co.uk

Balint Szekely
Violin & Viola
balint.szekely@portland-place.co.uk